Social-Engineer.org Newsletter – Vol. 02 Issue 09

8 07 2010

If you read one thing linked from my blog – READ THIS. Its pretty scary how easy it is to get enough information to steal someone’s identity. Follow the link & read the rest of the story, it puts the internet into a bit of perspective.

{quote}

An Invasion of Privacy

DISCLAIMER:

This is ABSOLUTELY for informational purposes ONLY. Social Engineer.org is TOTALLY not responsible for how you choose to use this information.

This month we received a story from a person who was tired of receiving spam from a certain person. Although this focuses on how to gather real information on real people, we by no means support using this information to harm or harass anyone.

The email that I received was not the run-of-the-mill mallware/ spambot/ whatever style email. The email was coming from his email address, using his business’s name, and advertising his business. I would have never posted this had I any doubt that this may not have actually been sent, by him, in some fashion.

I happened to receive a piece of spam at the exact moment as I was going to start a post about privacy and anonymity on the Internet. I will consider this to be a sign from God that this dude needed to be set straight. Okay, maybe not. I’m not sure what the bible says about spam, but if I were God, it would be into the pits of hell for them. So, since I cannot cast people into eternal suffering in a fiery pit, I will have to settle for second best. Pwnage!

What’s even better, none of what I’m about to do is illegal. It’s a serious, serious invasion of privacy, and you definitely don’t want it to happen to you, but all of it can be harvested through public record, social networks, forum posts, etc etc etc.

via Social-Engineer.org Newsletter – Vol. 02 Issue 09.

{/quote}

Actions

Information

One response

19 07 2010
Jeremy

Awesome. Terrifying but awesome. I performed a few similar searches on myself but happily couldn’t find much unless i refined the search a lot (using non-general information.

Leave a Reply

